Obion County Board of Education

Regular Board Meeting

May 1, 2017

The Obion County Board of Education met in regular session on May 1, 2017, at Hillcrest Elementary School. Board Chairman, Fritz Fussell called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. Ms. Mickey Preciado led everyone in prayer. Mr. Russell Davis called the roll. Mr. Fritz Fussell, Mr. Brian Rainey, Ms. Keisha Hooper, Mr. Tim Britt, Mr. Jared Poore, and Ms. Mickey Preciado were present. Six members were present. Mr. Scott Northam was absent. There was a quorum.

STUDENT/STAFF RECOGNITION

According to Ms. Patresa Rogers, Hillcrest Elementary has had a great year thus far with many activities including the following:

- Bookmark Competition with Layne Stover, Avery Weaks, and Makayla Buchanan winning that competition.
- Students are working hard on their respective softball, basketball, and football teams.
- Luke Moses was the School Geography Bee winner with scores that qualified for State competition, and he finished in the top twenty (20) at the State level. Additionally, Luke competed in an "Above the Influence" competition and his artwork was chosen for a billboard that is located between Troy and Union City.
- Ms. Megan Poore, school guidance counselor; Ms. Barbie Orr, Science/History Clubs sponsor and Director of Hillcrest After School Program; and Drama Club student, Kade Coursey, shared various points of interest regarding their specific programs.
- Ms. Allison Kail gave a brief presentation on the 7th and 8th grade ACT prep which showcased the diligence of both students and teachers to obtain scores that would rival those of a high school student.

SCHOOL RECOGNITION

Hillcrest Elementary Principal, Patresa Rogers invited the Board to visit the school at any time. She stated that both students and staff love to share what they are doing at their school.

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Upon the recommendation of Mr. Fussell, a motion was made by Ms. Preciado to approve the agenda. Ms. Hooper seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.**

APPROVAL OF MINUTES FROM PRIOR MEETING

Upon the recommendation of Mr. Fussell, a motion was made by Mr. Rainey to approve minutes from the Board meetings of April 10, 2017. Mr. Poore seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.**

CONSENT AGENDA

The consent agenda consists of the monthly personnel report; the monthly financial reports/business activity; and the report of technology equipment to be disposed via the most economical method. Upon the recommendation of Mr. Fussell, a motion was made by Mr. Britt to approve the consent agenda. Ms. Preciado seconded the motion. **MOTION CARRIED.**

NEW BUSINESS

Appoint Member to Athletic Advisory Committee – According to Mr. Davis, the Board Chairman shall appoint one Board member to serve on the Athletic Advisory Committee for a term of one (1) year. Mr. Scott Northam is currently serving. However, since his term will expire at the end of May, 2017, Chairman Fussell appointed Ms. Keisha Hooper to serve on the Athletic Advisory Committee for the 2017 – 2018 term. Since this was an appointment by the Board Chairman, no action was required by the Board on this item.

Consider/Approve Overnight Student Trip(s) – The following overnight student trips were submitted for Board approval:

- OCCHS, Leadership, May 5 7, 2017, Eva, TN
- Hillcrest, Plus Club, May 19 21, 2017, Louisville, KY

Upon Mr. Davis' recommendation, a motion was made by Mr. Fussell to approve the above noted overnight student trips. Mr. Britt seconded the motion.

MOTION CARRIED.

Recognition of Administrative/Principal Assignments for the 2017 – 2018 School Year – Administrative, Principal, and Assistant Principal Appointments for the 2017 – 2018 School Year are as follows:

- Assistant Director of Schools Student Support Services/Attendance Mr. Dale Hollowell
- Assistant Director of Schools Teaching and Learning, Grades 9 12 Ms. Nancy Hamilton
- Supervisor of Instruction, Grades 4 8/Title Director Ms. Lesa Scillion

- Supervisor of Instruction, Grades PK 3 Ms. Vikki Hayslett
- System Wide Data Coach/RTI Specialist/Technology Coach Mr. Adam Stephens
- Assistant Supervisor of Special Education Ms. Cynthia Rainey
- Supervisor of Special Education TBA
- Coordinated School Health Ms. Chastity Homra
- Supervisor of Child Nutrition Ms. Judy Denman
- Supervisor of Pupil Transportation Mr. Tim Maynard
- Supervisor of Maintenance Mr. Phil Graham
- Co-Technology Coordinators Mr. Joe Lewis and Mr. Shane Upchurch
- Director of Finance Ms. Linda Carney
- Black Oak Elementary Principal Mr. Travis Johnson
- Black Oak Elementary Assistant Principal Ms. Mary Coleman
- Hillcrest Elementary Principal Ms. Patresa Rogers
- Hillcrest Elementary Assistant Principal Ms. Ashley Jackson
- Lake Road Elementary Principal Ms. Linda Crigger
- Lake Road Elementary Assistant Principal Ms. Alisha Hedge
- Obion County Central Principal Mr. Greg Barclay
- Obion County Central Assistant Principal Mr. Craig Rogers
- Obion County Central Assistant Principal Mr. Barry Kendall
- Career and Technical Education Director/Alternative Education Supervisor Mr. George Leake
- Ridgemont Elementary Principal Mr. Jon Kerr
- Ridgemont Elementary Assistant Principal Ms. Lynn Pilcher
- South Fulton Elementary Principal Mr. Don Capps
- South Fulton Elementary Assistant Principal Ms. Laura Pitts
- South Fulton Middle/High Principal Ms. Kim Jackson
- South Fulton Middle/High Assistant Principal Mr. Keith Frazier

Since the above noted items were for information only, no action was required by the Board.

DIRECTOR'S UPDATE

Mr. Davis expressed his appreciation to the parents, students, and staff in attendance at the Board meeting. He further acknowledged the efforts of Mr. Larry Bell, the teachers, and the students in making this a good school year with no major issues.

ANNOUNCEMENTS/ADJOURN

Mr. Davis reminded the Board that all teachers and staff would be fed tomorrow in honor of Teacher Appreciation Week. Additionally, he stated that graduation for South Fulton High School would be on May 19th and Obion County Central High School graduation would be on May 20th.

With no further business, the meeting adjourned at 7: 52 p.m.

The entire meeting was recorded and stored as an electronic copy.

The minutes were taken and typed by Diane Terry.

Fritz Fussell, Chairman

Russell J. Davis, Director of Schools